Possession

These Are Serious Charges

Prosecutors in counties throughout northwest Georgia take drug possession charges seriously. It is not uncommon for assistant district attorneys to try to push the charges too far, particularly in possession cases involving an amount more than what might be considered excessive for personal use. Without an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side, it is not uncommon for simple possession of one ounce or less to be raised to a charge, including intent to sell.

Drug Crime Penalties Are Harsh. We Will Protect Your Future.

If you are being questioned about possession of illegal narcotics, or have already been charged for a drug possession charge in Dalton County or Calhoun County, Georgia, call the lawyers at McCamy, Phillips, Tuggle & Fordham, LLP, in Dalton.

Type of Drug and Offense First Offense Second Offense
Possession
Marijuana — less than 1 ounce Up to 1 year Up to 1 year
Marijuana — more than 1 ounce 1-10 years 1-10 years

Schedule 1 and 2

< 1 gram or milliliter

1-4 grams or milliliters

> 4 grams or milliliters

1-3 years

1-8 years

1-15 years

1-3 years

1-8 years

1-15 years

Schedule 3 1-3 years 1-3 years
Schedule 4 1-3 years 1-3 years
Schedule 5 1-3 years 1-3 years
Sale or Intent to Sell
Marijuana — less than 10 pounds 1-10 years 1-10 years
Marijuana — 10-2,000 pounds 5-30 years 5-30 years
Marijuana — More than 10,000 pounds 15-30 years 15-30 years
Schedule 1 5-30 years 10-40 years
Schedule 2 5-30 years 10-40 years
Schedule 3 1-10 years 1-10 years
Schedule 4 1-10 years 1-10 years
Schedule 5 1-10 years 1-10 years

Don’t Talk To The Police Or Prosecutor Until You Contact Us

If you are facing drug possession charges in Dalton, Calhoun, Whitfield and Murray counties in Georgia, make sure you have an experienced lawyer advising you of your rights and fighting for your future. Call us at 706-508-4292 or send an email to arrange an initial consultation right away.